what i’m into {april showers edition}

7 May

It feels like it’s been raining constantly in San Diego. April showers and all that, I kept thinking. But in reality, this year is one of the dryest in recent record, says public radio.

why yes, i am wearing Target knock-off-Uggs on the beach.

why yes, i am wearing Target knock-off-Uggs on the beach.

So maybe I just expect it to be sunny Every! Single! Day! in San Diego and am surprised when it’s not.

But it does feel like the rain is falling, hard or gentle. It feels like things are beginning to grow.

living

I expected Lent and Easter to be crazy busy, since I work at a church and all. I was pleasantly surprised when, for me in children’s ministry land, it wasn’t.

Well.

With a kids’ talent Sunday in worship on Pentecost and then a Sunday School Sunday in worship two weeks later, I’m eating my words. April is all about preparation, it seems like. List-making, coordinating, figuring out how to showcase a third grader’s skateboard tricks in church, getting summer teachers together, helping plan VBS…I think my number is up.

It DID rain when I played tourist with our Chinese friend Sunny and toured the fancy-schmancy Hotel Del. It’s rained two out of three times we’ve taken her sightseeing. Coincidence?

Slowly, slowly, I am learning to take Sabbath. It’s harder than you’d think, with two jobs, both of them with working weekends. Thursday has been my Sabbath day, my sleep in day, my beach day, my reading day. It’s odd, to be resting while everyone else is working. Sometimes taking a Sabbath by myself on the day that I choose seems like the most laughably American thing to do. But it is a start, a little bit of rain falling on dry ground, a little promise of new life that I’m growing into.

reading

I continue my love affair with the audiobook.

My writer friend Sarah Beth, who has excellent taste but loves a good story, recommended Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell. I’m about halfway through, and I’m loving the world of magicians and fairies and the like, not to mention the and perfectly worded one-liners, a la Jane Austen.

The Thursday Next books by Jasper Fforde are so clever,  I don’t know how any bibliophile could resist them. Some people have said that the last few sequels have not been up to par, but I thought that One of Our Thursdays Is Missing was just as grin-inducing.

I picked up the audiobook of How to Talk So Kids Will Listen and Listen So Kids Will Talk after Gretchen Rubin of the Happiness Project recommended it. Some of it may be common sense to former chaplain interns like yours truly (like the entire chapter on empathy and talking about feelings), but it was a great little resource for thinking about encouraging kids to cooperate, helping kids become autonomous, and overall treating them like the small human beings they are.

I’m starting to ease myself back into some theology for the first time since finishing div school. Eugene Peterson’s Christ Plays in Ten Thousand Places is a book I’m savoring in morsels. I told my husband that I wished Eugene Peterson could follow me around and say subtle and profound things every day, and he just looked at me like that was slightly strange. I’ll just settle for underlining every other sentence.

listening

I have been listening to next to nothing. For shame. The one exception is Justin Timberlake’s The 20-20 Experience, which I got for Josh as a present. Pusher Love Girl is the absolute best song to blast while driving down the freeway on a perfect 70 degree day.

watching

Seriously, what have I been doing with myself? I’ve watched next to nothing, too. Since cable has given way to Amazon Prime, I had to switch formulaic crime shows, so now I’m watching my way through The Closer. Yes, the one on TNT with Kyra Sedgwick where she speaks with a ridiculous Georgia accent. I’ve been finding myself saying “Thank yewww” to everyone. Someone asked me the other day where I come from. Oops.

All of the Oscar movies I wanted to see in theaters are now out on Redbox, though, so I see a little movie watching coming on. Argo, Lincoln, Life of Pi, Zero Dark Thirty?  Yes, please.

Not to mention Netflix watching when the new Arrested Development episodes come out!

around here

While the immigration debate rages, I wrote about the border that I experienced in the Jesus the Migrant series. The last post in the series is coming up in a few days.

I introduced a new series, What I Saw, because a Chinese pastor told me to. In the next couple months, look for posts about travels in Syria and the Palestinian Territories. I’m no expert,  but I was there. God was there. This is what happened. This is what I saw.

Speaking of new things springing up, by this time next month, this blog may or may not have a new home. A dot-com kind of home…

So let the showers fall, and let the new things come.

What I'm Into at HopefulLeigh

Joining up with HopefulLeigh‘s What I’m Into link-up

4 Responses to “what i’m into {april showers edition}”

  1. Hannah @ Boots & Feet May 7, 2013 at 11:44 am #

    I’m enjoying following you on here and reading … I love the bits of humor, as well as the book recommendations.

    • Christina May 8, 2013 at 7:29 pm #

      Aw, thanks, Hannah! I loooove reading what other people are reading/watching/listening to, so I figure I might as well share what I’M reading/watching/listening to.

      :)
      Christina

  2. hopefulleigh May 11, 2013 at 4:42 pm #

    It’s great that you’re finding a way to honor Sabbath. It sounds like it’s trickier when you have to make space to do that on a day other than Sunday but self-care is so important. I’m looking forward to watching Arrested Development, too!

    Thanks for linking up with What I’m Into!

    • Christina May 13, 2013 at 10:46 pm #

      Leigh,
      Yes, it is! And I’m not sure a DIY, solitary Sabbath on a Thursday is what it’s meant to be. But baby steps, baby steps.

      Thanks for creating such a great linkup!

      Christina

Leave a Reply

