for all the saints {epilogue}

1 Nov

A few weeks ago, Josh and I went to hear Salman Rushdie talk about his new memoir, about when his life was in danger because of backlash against The Satanic Verses. “I am not the hero of my own life story,” he said. 

I am not the hero of my story. And it’s a good thing that I do not have to be. Today is All Saints’ Day in the Christian tradition. One day a year, I look up from my little life and realize that I am surrounded by a great cloud of witnesses. A saint, someone told me once, is not the hero of her own story. She is an arrow, pointing to God.

As I wrote my story these 31 days, I was amazed at how it was not my story. It was the story of Josh, who refused to listen to me say lies about myself, who was always willing to remind me that I was gifted, I was beautiful, I was loved. The fabulous Bonnie showed up more times than I can count in this story, just like in real life. Jenn was there to bring milkshakes and to gently tell me that something was wrong. The Sermonizers were there to dance on tables, pray and laugh over soup, and pray and help me wedge open the door of heaven. Chuck, the fabulous preaching professor, gave me the Ten Hour Rule and taught me how to preach without a breakdown. SuperTherapist told me to write three things a day and showed me how to lower the stakes.

A saint is never the hero of her own life story. God is the hero. And sometimes God shows up with skin on, to heal. Sometimes God looks like Josh, like Bonnie and Jenn, like those dancing preachers, like my kind-eyed therapist.

Thank you, friends. Thank you for following along these thirty-one days. Thank you for not thinking of me as the Girl Who Got Locked up in the Psych Ward but as Christina. Thank you for reading, encouraging, sharing these posts on Facebook, commenting, and sending me messages. Every day, it seems, someone sent me a message sharing about your own struggle. I’m grateful that you would read, doubly grateful that you would share with me.

For all the saints, I give thanks. I give thanks for you.

This post is the last post in a series, 31 Days of Healing. Check out Day 1 or the complete list of posts. But don’t worry, there will be lots more here at the blog. If you want to follow along, you can also subscribe by email or subscribe in a feed reader. Or “like” the blog on Facebook. (We’re all about options here.) And thanks for reading!

4 Responses to “for all the saints {epilogue}”

  1. kathyrandall November 2, 2012 at 6:00 am #

    And Christina, thank you for your bravery in sharing your story. I can’t tell you the number of times I was reading and thought: that sounds exactly true. I pray that you continue to share your heart and story, it gives hope to the rest of us.

    • Christina November 2, 2012 at 12:57 pm #

      Kathy,
      You’re welcome, and thank YOU for the kindness. If there’s anything this month of writing has taught me, it’s to be honest, because it opens up room for someone else to be. Thanks for reading, and say hi for me to your hubs!

  2. hellorebecca November 2, 2012 at 3:36 pm #

    wanted to echo thanks for the courage and the beauty in the telling.

    (and. . . you found me! did I accidentally comment on your blog using my wordpress account? i was actually trying to purposefully *avoid* doing that just yet, but thanks for reading) :)

    • Christina November 2, 2012 at 3:46 pm #

      Rebecca,
      You are welcome, my dear! :) Sorry for commenting too soon! I saw that you’d followed the blog on WordPress, clicked over, and saw that it linked to your blog. I can pretend I didn’t see it until it’s ready to go if you want. ;)

Leave a Reply

