voice {day 26}

26 Oct

He is the first person to tell me that God’s voice might sound like mine.

My voice is too soft, I say, or too shrill. Too high, young, female. Too hesitant. It does not speak with a dramatic flair. It does not pause at all the right moments.

It does not sound like the voice of a Real Theologian, erudite and blazered. The kind of voice that would say, “It reminds me of something Ludwig Wittgenstein or Karl Barth once said.” It does not sound like the voice of a Real Preacher.

It is my professor Chuck who finally told me that my voice, my voice could speak the words of God. That if my voice was silent, maybe there would be a void or a vacuum. Maybe if I did not speak, someone would not hear God’s words. There would be silence.

So I speak, hesitantly at first and then more confident. My voice sounds earnest and joking. It sounds honest and real. It sounds like a conversation over coffee sometimes, and it sounds like an old church preacher sometimes. I speak, and I believe him, finally.

Sometimes when I speak, it is God’s voice. 

{Thanks to Chuck, the finest preaching professor in all the land, for helping me see that sometimes God’s voice sounds like mine.}

I’m participating in Five Minute Friday over at Lisa-Jo Baker’s. This is how she describes it: “It started because I’d been thinking about writing and how often our perfectionism gets in the way of our words. And I figured, why not take 5 minutes and see what comes out: not a perfect post, not a profound post, just five minutes of focused writing.” Amen, sister. The theme this week is “Voice.”

This post is part of a series, 31 Days of Healing. Check out Day 1 or the complete list of posts. If you want to follow along, you can also subscribe by email or subscribe in a feed reader. Or “like” the blog on Facebook. (We’re all about options here.) And thanks for reading!

6 Responses to “voice {day 26}”

  1. Becky October 26, 2012 at 7:36 pm #

    Love this! I’ve felt the same way many times. Like Moses, we never feel worthy of the task of carrying His message. Keep speaking for Him, dear one.

    • Christina October 27, 2012 at 1:44 pm #

      Becky,
      Thanks for the encouragement and the solidarity! And amen to this: “Like Moses, we never feel worthy of the task of carrying His message.” Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Pattyann October 26, 2012 at 7:41 pm #

    I like this one today. I too have found His words can come with my voice. I want to say what He wants me to say.

    • Christina October 27, 2012 at 1:45 pm #

      Pattyann,
      Glad you stopped over, and thank you!

  3. shortybear October 27, 2012 at 10:47 am #

    I like this.

Leave a Reply

